He’d immediately be one of the largest players in the NBA.

These elite prospects begin by having their general measurements taken and most go on to participate in a number of strength and agility drills, positional skill work, as well as five-on-five competitions. At a near-average wingspan, the trendline fluctuates.

I’m a college freshman and lifelong Celtics fan. Join Slate Plus to continue reading, and you’ll get unlimited access to all our work—and support Slate’s independent journalism. The Milwaukee Bucks notched the first double-digit winning streak of the season with a 119-110 road victory over the Cleveland Cavaliers. Even if one is more correlated than the other, is the relationship statistically significant such that we can say which is a better predictor of defense? The exponential wingspan trendline stays mostly consistent for the forwards with a near-average wingspan, and then rises for those with an above-average wingspan.

On a team-by-team basis, these external factors are even larger.

That would be Manu Ginobili. i am 6’10 and 230 lbs and i have an above average wingspan but i do not remember the exact number. Vonleh has the height of an average NBA power forward, but the wingspan and standing reach of a center. Height: 6-10. Wingspan had a correlation coefficient of 0.132. 6) Jamal Murray: PG/SG. I don’t have any other combines listed in the data.

The 2014 NBA combine wingspan numbers—helpfully aggregated by DraftExpress—reveal that elite basketball players are not average adult men. However, Gobert recovers and blocks the shot due to his wingspan. To read more about the blog and my story, check out the “About” page.